skip to main content
Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram TV The Wire Staff Login
Mobile County Public School Board

Mobile County Schools
Board Policies and Procedures Click Here

Mobile County Public School System Goes Paperless for Board Meetings!
The decision to use the eBOARD Meetings Module is one component of the district's continuous improvement plan to successfully commit to being open and transparent in sharing information about the school system while building strong community and stakeholder relationships. Click here to view Mobile County's eBOARDsolutions.

The School Board
The School Board is responsible for the operation of the Mobile county's public schools in accordance with Alabama State Department of Education regulations and to uphold and assist the Mobile County Public School System's (MCPSS) educational mission.  Serving as a representative of the public, MCPSS Board members are elected every six years in the November general election. The school board members represent five districts in the Mobile County area.

School Board Meetings
The public is invited to attend and participate in School Board meetings held monthly in open session at Mobile County Public School Central Office and various public schools in the system. Board Work Sessions convene at 1 p.m. and; School Board meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. Persons wishing to address the Board should arrive to the board meeting at least 15 minutes early and officially sign to address the board members.  Meeting dates are available on the school system website under Meetings & Agendas.  

Agendas and Actions
Meeting agendas and actions are available on the school system website under the Mobile County's eBOARDsolutions webpage CLICK HERE TO VIEW 

School Board meetings are also videotaped and Web cast under Board Meeting Videos.

School Administration
The chief administrator of MCPSS is the Superintendent. Serving directly under the Superintendent is the Deputy Superintendent.

Contact Information

Name & Position Phone / Email
Mr. L. Douglas Harwell, Jr.
Commissioner, District 1 Election Term: November 2012-November 2018
Email Mr. L. Douglas Harwell 
Mr. Don Stringfellow
Commissioner, District 2 Election Term: November 2012 - November 2018
Email Mr. Don Stringfellow 
Dr. Reginald A. Crenshaw  
Commissioner, District 3 Election Term: November 2014 - November 2020
Email Dr. Crenshaw
Mr. Robert E. Battles
Commissioner, District 4  Election Term: November 2014 - November 2020

Email Mr. Robert E. Battles, Sr.

Dr. William Foster
Commissioner, District 5 Election Term: November 2010 - November 2016

Email Dr. Foster 

Darlene Calloway Chambers

Executive Secretary Board Services








The Mobile County Public School System is committed to ensuring that the content on this website is accessible to everyone, including those with disabilities and users of assistive technology. For more information, see our Section 504 Grievance Procedures. Mobile County Public Schools has earned and maintains system accreditation through AdvancED.