NotifyMe Facebook TV Twitter YouTube Film Festival
The MCPSS Blog

News, Events and Other Important Information

Monday, August 29, 2011

Reading educators to receive recognition

Posted by Comm. Dept. in General  |  Comments (3)

Congratulations to Ms. Cabrina McShan, Reading Coach at Maryvale Elementary, she has been named the Alabama Reading Association Vice President Elect for 2011-12!  To date, the majority of officers for the Metro Mobile Reading Council have been MCPSS teachers.   

Reading teachers are invited to attend the next meeting on September 15th.  Judy Stone, the Alabama State Director of the Alabama Reading Initiative will speak on the newly revised Reading Initiative. This meeting will be held in Bernheim Hall at the Ben May Mail Library on Government Street from 4:00 - 5:30, where she will also distribute copies of this new plan which encompasses all grade levels. 

In addition, the Association will recognize outstanding local reading educators for their contributions to literacy.  These educators include Dr. Julia Nelson, and MCPSS Teachers, Gloria Nelson, Carolyn Barnes, Aneesha Watson, Apryl Mather, and Debra Weatherspoon.


Thursday, September 15, 2011
Bernheim Hall - Ben May Main Library
701 Government St.
4:00 - 5:30p.m.

(free parking directly behind the library)
Be among the first to learn about

"Alabama's Action Plan for Literacy: Birth Through Grade 12"
Special Guest Speaker - Judy Stone
State Director of the Alabama Reading Initiative

Find Out About Young Authors' Programs

Mobile Writers Guild's Tracy Hurley Memorial Writing Contest

Young Authors' Conference with Mike Artell - February 11, 2012

Young Authors' Round Table celebrates the 50th Anniversary of A Wrinkle in Time -

March 3, 2012 (with the Mobile Writers' Guild)

Join Us in Recognizing Outstanding Reading Educators: 

Maureen Goodwin, St. Ignatius Catholic School

Aneesha Adams-Watson, Maryvale Elementary School

Gloria Morris, Fonde Elementary School

Apryl Mather, Westlawn Elementary School  

Debra Weatherspoon,Robbins Elementary School

Carolyn Barnes, Hollinger's Island Elementary School

Jennifer Carnley, Pine Grove Elementary School

Linda Noble, BCBE Elementary Supervisor of Language Arts

Dr. Julia Nelson, Principal of Burroughs Elementary School  

Refreshments - Fellowship -   Door Prizes

                 SARIC Professional Development Credit will be given! 

Anyone interested in literacy is invited to attend our meeting!!!    

For more information, 

contact Elizabeth Gillespie:  or 391-5376.


The Metro Mobile Reading Council and the Baldwin County Reading Council are affiliated with the Alabama Reading Association & the International Reading Association.



Bring new or gently used books to donate to our Second Hand Prose Project for schools and community organizations in need. 

Comments on "Reading educators to receive recognition"

8/31/2011 1:24:33 PM CST

1. Ingrid L. McCants said...

Congratulations Cabrina! You will represent us well.

Congratulations  to Debra Weatherspoon!! You are an awesome first grade teacher, and the students at Robbins Elementary are blessed to have you.

8/30/2011 9:11:28 PM CST

2. Donna Bradley said...

     Congratulations to Cabrina and all of the outstanding reading teachers!  You make a difference everyday.

     I am especially proud of one of my Hollinger's Island coworkers, Carolyn Rochelle Barnes. You are a fantastic teacher. Thank you for going the extra mile for our students.

8/30/2011 3:47:25 PM CST

3. Pamela McDade said...

Congratulations to all the reading teachers of the year. Also, Congratulations to Dr. Nelson, of Burroughs Elementary School for being named Administrator of the year for Mobile County.

Anyone who is interested in attending the ARA Fall Conference, please contact me and I will send an application to you in the mailbag. We will also have applications at the meeting on September 15 at the Ben May Main Library.

Pamela McDade, President, MMRC

Add your comments:

Your email will not be published.
  (max 2000 chars.)