skip to main content
Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram TV The Wire Staff Login

Governance & Leadership

Buttons_03   Buttons_07   Buttons_13  

Buttons_11   Buttons_05   Buttons_09


Ensuring that Mobile County Public School’s 59,000 students are receiving the best education possible starts with us in governance and leadership.

The school system operates under the leadership of Superintendent Martha L. Peek, a Bayou La Batre native who has been an educator here for more than four decades.

The superintendent is appointed by the five-member Mobile County Board of School Commissioners. The members are: President Don Stringfellow; Vice President Dr. Reginald Crenshaw; and members L. Douglas Harwell Jr.; Robert E. Battles; and Dr. William Foster. Board members are elected to six-year terms to represent the people in their districts.

Together, we work to carry out our mission to graduate prepared and productive citizens. And we strive to reach our district’s vision of becoming a premier educational system where all students engage in multiple pathways leading to success in a global society.

It Starts With Us.

About Us



 Research in MCPSS


The Mobile County Public School System is committed to ensuring that the content on this website is accessible to everyone, including those with disabilities and users of assistive technology. For more information, see our Section 504 Grievance Procedures. Mobile County Public Schools has earned and maintains system accreditation through AdvancED.